The Sweetest of Wars

There are some girls

who can wear sadness like it’s

a gossamer negligee

falling over their shoulders;

sadness takes to them beautifully,

the way morning mists take to a sunrise,

and when these girls weep,

they weep softly,

prettily,

all dewdrops on cobwebs

and rose petals falling

and Sunday afternoon rains

in the summertime.

Sadness is such a lovely colour

on these girls.

But it has never looked quite right

on me:

my face is a renaissance painting when I cry,

eyes the colour of unopened love letters

and cheeks stained red

like they’ve had wine spilled onto them;

when I cry,

my body collapses in on itself,

lungs gasping and swelling

like pink butterfly’s wings spreading open,

pins-and-needles waltzing on my fingertips –

I do not cry often

but when I do,

I feel it trembling in my blood,

vibrating in my bones,

less like rains falling

or flower petals dropping

and more like an earthquake.

It isn’t pretty at all.

Maybe this is why

I’ve never been one to cry

in front of other people:

something about it has always felt

a little too much like a confession

and I would rather be hurt and

alone

and pretending not to be hurt

than reveal weakness to the people

who have been waiting

for me to fall

from this tightrope I’ve been dancing on.

My heart is a locket,

you see,

and the last time I unfastened

the joints of my ribs and

unclasped my chest,

I found that my heart was made of

wounds and wings and winters,

because when it comes to

fight or flight or freeze,

I have always been

exceptionally good at all three –

but never any good at

allowing someone to love me.

There is a reason my skin is so smooth:

I haven’t let anyone touch it yet,

let lips like bombs fall onto my cheeks

or tongues like pistols into my mouth,

because sometimes I worry

love is nothing more than

an unusually beautiful way to decay,

the sweetest of wars,

but a war nonetheless –

and the idea making this body

into a battleground

is terrifying enough to make me

heave with another earthquake

of a sorrow.

After all,

there is something unendurably sad

about a woman who is too afraid

to love

or even to wear her own sadness,

never quite able to drape it

over her body

or wear it like a halo

over her head

the way the other girls do.

 

 

Sadness; Fear

Leave a Reply