Girl of Glass

They say a child can swim

in the veins of a blue whale,

that the vessels are

just big enough for the

slender body of a little girl.

I would have fit perfectly,

thin and small as I was,

light enough to be blown over

by breezes,

willowy and weightless and swaying

with a body like a dying wildflower.

My ribcage was delicate enough

to be played like a harp,

my skin soft enough

to have been made from feathers,

just light enough to walk on water,

this girl of glass

with limbs like the silver rods of windchimes,

wrists sharp and curved as if

they had been cut from diamond,

shoulder blades prominent enough

to be mistaken for angels’ wings

my skin was made of stained glass,

remember,

a collarbone that looks like

it’s been lifted from my chest and

ankles curved like the wings of butterflies,

a crystal figurine with

an hourglass waistline,

always just a little too fragile

for her liking

after all, who could possibly

love the girl who

can be broken with just one touch,

a girl with cobwebbed cracks

spreading over her skin like tear tracks.

I was afraid of being dainty,

not wanting to be so fragile

that I would fall in love quickly

and fall apart even faster,

so instead I tried to show them

how there were fires seething

in the opals of my eyes

tried to prove that even stained glass

must be cut and fused and burned

before it can be made pretty.

I never understood how the embers

smouldering in my mouth

went unnoticed

but my flower petal bones

were seen

and touched

and gathered into posies when

all I wanted was to become

more fire than I was glass,

wishing away the damn lightness

that made them compare my arms

to willow tree branches,

just wanting them to

give weight to my voice

give my body just a little more weight

build me out of something stronger

than glass and ivory and porcelain –

and eventually, they did.

 

I am not a glass girl anymore.

There is nothing fragile about me

and I thought I would like being

less likely to blow away in the wind

like silver-dressed dandelion seeds,

but it is only now

in the almost absence of hollow bones

and jawlines curved like crescent moons

that I remember how much

my lightness has always suited me.

Perhaps that is why lately

I have taken to writing poetry

on an empty stomach at midnight,

waiting until I am swooning

with blurriness

before I allow myself to eat,

drinking water from wineglasses

to fill the hunger

and aching

to be weightless enough to fly again,

wondering

why I never did notice how

the transparency of my glass skin

must have made my veins

look like Arabic calligraphy

on parchment.

I am afraid I am losing

my angels’ wings,

afraid they will be cut

from my back like paper with scissors

or else fall apart,

feather by feather,

like flowers undressing themselves

as their petals begin to

crumble into the powder

that pearls are made of.

I am afraid I will open my eyes

one morning to discover

the fire I so lovingly wished for

in place of glass

has burned away all of my lightness,

leaving me with a body that

takes up too much space,

leaving me to taste ashes

on my tongue as if they are

snowflakes.

I am afraid one day I will

no longer be a girl of

windchime limbs

and dandelion feather hair

and stained glass skin

but instead be a woman

drowning in the heaviness

of blue whale blood,

not quite slender enough

to fit so perfectly into the

passages of their veins

anymore.

 

 

Written three years later, this poem is the second part of Angels’ Wings, a spoken word I wrote in Grade 10: https://violetsareblue.edublogs.org/2015/12/06/angels-wings/

 

 

Image Citations:

Angel Tattoo

Feathers

 

Leave a Reply