The Anatomy of a Loss

Last November, the final

petal

curled its softness into bone

(and my mouth tasted bruised for weeks).

Death has a name that sounds

like silk sliding over the ground,

but she is not so soft:

 

I have been watching my grandmother’s

body harden for years,

the flower unfolding itself,

petals

falling and winding

into skin so tight it could be broken

with the brush of a fingernail,

unmoving, limbs like veined stems

trapped in hoar frost,

imprisoned by her own flesh and blood

(this is what a woman dying

of cerebellar degeneration looks like).

 

I always thought my grandmother

looked astonishingly like a

corpse

all empty eyes and cold hands with

blue vessels rising to the surface of her skin

like drowned spider web veins,

and when she finally ran out of heartbeats –

flowerhead empty,

petals

dried and withered –

I remember thinking that in Death

wearing the mortician’s powders

she looked more alive

then when she had been plucking breaths

one by one from between her lips:

 

I never saw the blooming,

(only the withering)

 

so when the

petals

fell scattered at my feet

I gathered them into posies –

a shard of skin,

a section of skull,

a sliver of spine:

this was the anatomy of her loss,

(after all, I never knew her to be more

than a body strained by disease).

 

They brought us flowers and condolence notes,

bouquets of lilies and carnations,

women in pale gloves and taffeta skirts

wearing ornamental tears on their cheekbones,

breathing in Death

like it was a fine perfume,

women who weren’t there to see her hardening

but were somehow greatly affected

by her tragedy

 

and all the while I could only sit, plucking

petals

from the white lilies,

(she loves me, she loves me not),

learning grief is a thing of

wilting and falling and crumbling

petal

by

petal,

until we lose ourselves in loss.

 

Flowers; Petals

Leave a Reply